You are here

END COUNTER – Hindi movie review

A crime thriller


End Counter Hindi movie review

End Counter is story of a cop in the backdrop of murky land dealings involving crores of Rupees and shrewd manipulators acting under the front of god-men form the crux of the crime-thriller written and directed by Alok Shrivastava.

End Counter is a crime thriller about an author Renu Sahay (Mrinmay Kolwalkar) in love with her live-in partner who is a cop Sameer Deshmukh (Prashant Narayanan). Sameer is an encounter specialist who initially is an upright policeman.

Sameer Deshmukh’s childhood friend Datta Salvi (Abhimanyu Singh) lures this cop to venture into corrupt activities and then the policeman misuses his power and position to arm twist people who fall into his trap.

Other characters in the film are that of the Guruji (Anupam Shyam) who wears the guise of a god-man. But beneath him is a shrewd manipulator who fixes big contracts and land dealings.

Rahul Jain’s music is nothing noteworthy while Ashok Jamuar’s DOP is somewhat tacky in parts. It is Prashant Narayanan’s natural acting and his voice that commands attention throughout the film. The talented and versatile Abhimanyu Singh is loud in parts and he is wasted in this action thriller.

Ehsaan Qureshi and Vrajesh Hirji appear in bits and parts to provide humour aimed at front-benchers.

The motive of the director of End Counter can be appreciated alas the writing and editing could have been crisp. Outdoor locales shot in and around Nashik city are pleasing.

Cast of End Counter:
Prashant Narayanan as Sameer Deshmukh
Abhimanyu Singh as Datta Salvi
Mrinmay Kolwalkar as Renu Sahay
Anupam Shyam as Guruji
Vrajesh Hirji as Raju Hatela
Satyamvada singh as Honey
Monika Ravan as Anjana
Ehsaan Qureshi as Kallu Kasai
Ranjeet as Baba Khan
Uday Tikekar as Police commissioner
Keisha Rawat as Jyoti
Anwar Fatehan as Sundar Das Makhija

Credits and Crew of End Counter:
Producer: Alok Shrivastava, Jatin Upadhyay
Writer and Director: Alok Shrivastava
DOP: Ashok Jamuar
Music Director: Rahul Jain
Singers: Jonita Gandhi, Rahul Jain, Soham Naik
Lyrics: Alok Shrivastava, sohan lal bhatia, Rahul Jain, Kunal Verma
Choreographer: Alok Shrivastava, Sanjay Jadhav
Background score: Nikhil Kamath
Production Designer: Tushar Gupte
Action: Darshan Singh Mahal
Music partner: Zee music company