You are here

Shootout at Wadala

An Epic Crime Saga from the streets of Bombay


An explosive, true story of the first encounter killing in Bombay and the war between Dilawar, Manya Surve & Inspector Afaaque Baagraan. The story is primarily based on the book on the underworld of Bombay, written by S. Hussain Zaidi.

In 1992, Bombay witnessed an infamous encounter in Lokhandwala. The news was telecast by the BBC and covered extensively by the media across the country and internationally. Till date more than 820 encounters have been recorded in the files of Mumbai police, but where did it all begin?

Shootout at Wadala is a crime thriller film, a prequel to the 2007 hit movie Shootout at Lokhandwala. It outlines the rampant gang wars in Bombay and culminates in an explosive 3-way face-off between the dreaded gangster Dilawar, the notorious & charismatic gangster Manya Surve & Inspector Afaaque Baagraan.

The first-ever registered encounter by Mumbai police during the 1980s in Bombay (then renamed as Mumbai) where a dreaded gangster Manya Surve was shot dead. This incident occurred on 11 January 1982, on the streets of Wadala, a south central part of Mumbai.

Manya Surve (John Abraham), who is fatally injured with bullets narrates the story to ACP Afaaque Baaghran (Anil Kapoor).

Manohar Surve (Manya Surve’s real name) is a normal college going student – good in studies and decent natured. He is in love with Vidya Joshi (Kangana Ranaut) and tells his mother about his wish to get married to her.

Manohar’s older brother Bhargav Surve, who is a gangster, is attacked by an underworld don Bhaskar’s men. Manohar jumps in to save his elder brother, and in the brawl, the brothers end up killing one of the goons. The duo are arrested and brought to Yerawada Jain in Pune.

It is jungle law in the prison, and Manohar (now called as Manya) is attacked by another convict, but he is saved by an inmate Munir (Tusshar Kapoor). But in this assault his elder brother Bhargav gets killed. Munir befriends Manya and even helps train him to become mentally rough and touch.

Another inmate – Potya has differences with Manya trains his eyes on him. At the first given opportunity, Potya beats him up and in reply, Manya happens to stab stabs Potya to death. Now it is not one, but two murders in police records and there is no chance to return to decent family life for Manya.

Sometime later, Manya and Munir escape from the prison and then connect to the Haskar- Dilawar duo, who rule the underworld in Bombay. While Zubair Imtiaz Haksar (Manoj Bajpai), is impressed by Manya, his brother, Dilawar (Sonu Sood), frowns on Manya and dislikes him. Things begin to sour…

So, now the ACP Afaaque Bhaagran who is on the hunt for the brothers, has added Manya to his hit list.

Cinematic liberties are obvious in this realistic version, which is filled with an overdose of swear words, apparently keeping the commercially angle in mind.

To make it more commercially viable, the producers have included not one, but three item numbers – Laila (Sunny Leone), Babli Badmaash (Priyanka Chopra) and the raunchiest one – Aala re aala (Sophie Choudhary)

John Abraham as Manohar / Manya Surve
Anil Kapoor as ACP Afaaque Baaghran
Kangna Ranaut as Vidya Joshi
Tusshar Kapoor as Sheikh Munir
Manoj Bajpai as Zubair Haksar
Sonu Sood as Dilawar Haksar
Ronit Roy as Inspector Raja Ambat
Mahesh Manjrekar as Inspector Bhinde
Siddhanth Kapoor as Gyancho
Ranjeet as Bhaskar
Jackie Shroff as Police Commissioner
Raju Kher as Ambolkar
Arif Zakaria as Sadiq
Soni Razdan as Manya’s Mother
Chetan Hansraj as Bakhiya
Karan Patel as Jamal
Vineet Sharma as Bhargav Surve
Special appearances – Priyanka Chopra, Sunny Leone, Sophie Choudry


Credits & Crew:
Studio – Balaji Motion Pictures
Directed by Sanjay Gupta
Produced by Sanjay Gupta, Anuradha Gupta, Ekta Kapoor, Shobha Kapoor
Screenplay by Sanjay Gupta, Sanjay Bhatia, Abhijit Deshpande
Story by Sanjay Gupta, Hussain Zaidi
Based on the book ‘Dongri to Dubai’ by Hussain Zaidi
Cinematography Sameer Arya, Sanjay F. Gupta
Editing by Bunty Nagi
Music – Anu Malik, Mustafa Zahid, Anand Raj Anand, Nadeem Saifi, Anjjan Meet