You are here

Kevin Spacey, John Travolta join IIFA Celebrations

iifa priyanka chopra

John and Kevin shook a leg on popular Bollywood hits at the event


·         Bhaag Milkha Bhaag take home highest accolades at the 15th Tata Motors IIFA Awards

·         Deepika Padukone and Farhan Akhtar win lead actor Awards

·         International Actors Kevin Spacey & John Travolta join in the Celebrations   26th April, 2014, Tampa Bay: The 15th Tata Motors IIFA Awards surpassed expectations with a spectacular show that saw the film Bhaag Milkha Bhaag nab the top Awards of the night including Best Picture, Best Direction, Performance in Leading Role (Male), Performance in a Supporting Role (Female) and Best StoryAashiqui 2 bagged awards for Music Direction, Lyrics, Playback Singer (Male) and Playback Singer (Female) Deepika Padukone won the Award for her much acclaimed role in Chennai Express while Farhan Akhtar won for his role in Bhaag Milkha Bhaag.   Celebrating the magic of Indian Cinema, the Tata Motors IIFA Awards was held at the Raymond James Stadium where actors, Shahid Kapoor and Farhan Akthar played host for the second time. The duo kept the audience entertained throughout the evening with their humour, wit and laudable on-stage camaraderie with sets varying from a celebrity antakshri to a live-rap with the audience (Raju & Pappu) to them being dressed as spirited pirates.   Some of the highlights of the evening were the launch of IIFA Coffee Table Book by the Founder- Directors of Wizcraft International Entertainment – Andre Timmins, Sabbas Joseph and Viraf Sarkari along with superstar Hrithik Roshan.    International actors John Travolta and Kevin Spacey shook a leg on popular Bollywood hits. Kevin Spacey was brought on stage by Shahid, Farhan and Deepika to join them for a little jig to Lungi Dance while John Travolta joined Priyanka Chopra on stage at the end of her act and later joined Hrithik matching moves with celebrity dancer-actor, Hrithik Roshan.   On having won the Performance in a Leading Role (Female), Deepika Padukone said, 2013 was an amazing year for me. I left home with a suitcase and a dream and I thank my parents for allowing me to follow my dream.”   Farhan Akhtar on winning the award for Performance in a Leading Role (Male) said, “This is a very special moment as it is the first time I’m receiving an award for the film in the presence of Milkha Singh. He shared a lot of amazing stories with me and was the wind beneath my wings. I am very honoured today.”

John Travolta was felicitated with an award for Outstanding Contribution to International Cinema. He accepted the award saying “I am honoured and humbled to be put in this category. I believe that as human being we are alike and this is a medium to celebrate our similarities. A heartfelt thank you to IIFA and the Indian film community.”

  Debutants, Vaani Kapoor (Shudh Desi Romance) and Dhanush (Raanjhanaa) took to the IIFA stage to collect their accolades for the most promising new faces in Indian Cinema. The Tata Motors IIFA Awards, organized by Wizcraft International Entertainment, had a foot tapping performances line-up. Madhuri Dixit Nene stole the show with her performance on Ek Do TeenPiya Ghar Aaya, Dhak Dhak Karne Laga, Dola Re Dola.   Another highlight of the night was the electrifying performance by Hrithik Roshan on his hit numbers Mein Aisa Kyun Hoon, Bhoomro Bhoomro, Idhar Chala Main Udhar Chala, Senorita and Dhoom among others.   Priyanka Chopra performed on Jaane Kyon Dil Chahata Hai, Mujse Shaadi Karogi, Tune Maari Entriyaan and many more. Deepika Padukone performed on Dhol Bhaje among others. Other performers were Ranveer Singh and Siddharth Malhotra.       The prestigious night of nights, the Tata Motors IIFA Awards will be broadcast globally on Star Plus. Some of the key partners of the IIFA US celebrations are: Videocon d2h, Tata Motors, Freedom Health Insurance, Lava Mobile, Visit Tampa Bay Visitors and Convention Bureau, Visit Florida, Enterprise Florida, Hillsborough County Florida, Tampa Bay Trade and Protocol Council, Tampa Hillsborough Economic Development Commission, Jammu & Kashmir Tourism, Arise, Vishal Fashions, UST Global,, FedEx, LT Foods – Daawat and Royal- , Bishwa Bandhan for Cerebral Palsy. Other support partners include Mosaic, Patina Solutions and Tampa Steel Erecting Company, Tampa International Airport, Tampa Bay Business Journal and Tampa Bay Times.


…And The Winners Are

Best Picture
Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Farhan Akhtar Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Performance in a Leading Role (Female)
Deepika Padukone Chennai Express
Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Aditya Roy Kapoor Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)

Divya Dutta Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Performance in a Comic Role
Arshad Warsi Jolly LLB
Performance in a Negative Role
Rishi Kapoor D-Day
Music Direction
Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari,Jeet Ganguly Aashiqui 2
Best Story
Prasoon Joshi Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Winner Song Film
Mithoon Tum Hi Ho Aashiqui 2
Playback Singer (Male)
Winner Song Film
Arijit Singh Tum Hi Ho Aashiqui 2
Playback Singer (Female)
Winner Song Film
Shreya Ghoshal Sunn Raha Hai Aashiqui 2
Best Debutant Male
 Winner Film
Dhanush Raanjhanaa
Best Debutant Female
 Winner Film
Vani Kapoor Shudh Desi Romance
Outstanding Contribution by An Indian in the US
Drs. Kiran & Pallavi Patel
Entertainer of the year
Deepika Padukone


Outstanding Contribution To International Cinema
John Travolta


Lifetime Achievement

Shatrughan Sinha

Related posts